Muller named LMS Best

Photograph courtesy of ByTy Photography.

All Rounder Danny Muller has been named the Ray White Marsden Cane Toads LMS Player of the Year at the first annual Yarrabilba Cricket Association LMS Presentation afternoon. Capping off a remarkable year for the teacher-by-trade who made his debut for the Cane Toads as a ‘fill-in’.

Despite a string of poor performances throughout the season by the Yarrabilba Cane Toads outfit, Daniel Muller was consistently scoring runs, and playing an integral role both in the field and with the ball in hand. As the Yarrabilba Cane Toads made their Last Man Stands debut in 2020 a number of players who had wanted to play became unavailable due to their circumstances changing due to the global pandemic.

While being a couple of players short for the opening match Daniel Muller was drafted in by LMS-boss Matt Turbill to assist the Cane Toads, Muller stuck with the team ever since becoming a regular member of the side that made both the Snap Fitness T10 Plate Final and the side that took out the Division 3 Plate just a month ago.

Scored using the same scale as our other club cricketing awards in which 0.01 points are allocated for runs, 5 points for a wicket and other small mathematical points for other performances throughout the season Daniel’s consistency in the middle saw him fall just a handful of runs short of taking out the Batter of the Year award – eventually taken out by LMS Skipper Callum Whiting – however, earning enough points to easily claim the top gong.

Gavin Andrews, who started playing for the Cane Toads late in the season, took out the Bowler of the Year Award.

For the 2020/2021 Award season only the Summer/Spring edition of the Last Man Stands season counted. However, with LMS Beaudesert starting back up this weekend the association has made clear their intentions are for Winter + the Summer/Spring season will count towards the 2021/2022 Cane Toads Last Man Stands awards.