Connect with us

Last Man Stands

Double LMS win secures PERFECT weekend

Wins by both Division One and Division Two Last Man Stands teams have given the Yarrabilba Cane Toads their first, of what will hopefully become many, Perfect weekends for the clubs after both 1st Grade and 2nd Grade secured wins in Saturday’s Logan District Cricket Association (LDCA) action.

Division 2
In Division 2 Last Man Stands action the Ray White AKG Alan Kuss backed Yarrabilba Cane Toads lost the toss and were asked to bowl against The Window Lickers.

With a couple of players running late, the Cane Toads started with two less players on the field, with opening batters Benson Trembath and Jayden Hayes looking to punish the Cane Toads in the absence of their full compliment of players.

Upon returning to their full playing list fortunes for the Cane Toads began to change, although unable to get the breakthrough required, holes in the field were plugged and a number of chances were soon given, unfortunately for the bowling side however club President couldn’t catch a cold even if stranded in the middle of Antarctica.

First dropping Jayden Hayes off the bowling of Phil Myors, before going on to drop a tough caught and bowled chance offered by Benson Trembath as he brought up his 50 from 35 deliveries.

After the retirement of both Trembath and Jayden Hayes (50 from 43) momentum seemed to swing the way of Cane Toads. McCoy would eventually bounce back picking up the scalp of Garth Baldwin, who was caught by Myors for five from seven, before Riley Baldwin (15 from 11) and Liam Dwyer (five from seven) were both dismissed as the Window Lickers limped to a competitive 137 for 3 from their twenty overs.

Myors departed early in the Yarrabilba Cane Toads run chase, bowled by Jason Mcgregor for two from three deliveries. After some conservative batting by skipper Daniel Muller, and make shift opener Brendon McCoy the game looked to be in the balance, the job was made slightly harder with the departure of Muller for 13 from 15 deliveries.

Play was halted midway through the run chase however when Brendon McCoy was forced to retire on 31 from 20 deliveries, due to heat exhaustion.

“I am fine, more disappointed I left so many runs out there and missed out on getting my photo on Facebook.” McCoy said when checked on after the match, knowing full well the jokes on his constantly injured body are sure to come.

When play resumed Leigh Reading stepped up with the bat, accompanied by Evan Gudge. Reading bringing up his second half century for the Cane Toads retiring on 50 from 36 deliveries his partnership with Gudge (unbeaten 35 from 27) setting up the win for the Cane Toads with Craig Stace finishing on one not out as the Cane Toads got home with 14-deliveries to spare.

Cane Toads 2 for 138 (17.1 Overs)
Leigh Reading 50 (36) ret.
Evan Gudge 35 (27) no
Brendon McCoy 31 (20) ret.

The Window Lickers 3 for 137 (20)
Benson Trembath 50 (35) ret.
Jayden Hayes 50 (43) ret
Phil Myors 1/23
Evan Gudge 1/26
Brendon McCoy 1/33

Division 1
The Division One Yarrabilba Cane Toads LMS side have narrowly missed out on a bonus point victory after defeating Ump Yours at Malling Street Oval in Sunday afternoon action.

Nathan Bennett provided the backbone for the Ump Yours side after batting first, reaching a steady, test-match worthy 50 from 44 deliveries which included a six and a four before he was forced to retire.

The innings from Bennett came after the side lost Kamal Kishor early when he was bowled by David Sheehan for a first ball duck. The Cane Toads continued to strike with the ball with the big scalps of Robert Pearce (13 from 16) and Dylan Goodison (22 from 18) both bowled by Gavin Andrews.

That was until Gordon Willis (17 from 15) and Jason Bennett (16 from 15) navigated to the end of the innings, reaching 127 for 3.

Andrews picked up 2 for 17, while David Sheehan was the other wicket taker going for 21 from his four.

It looked as though the Cane Toads were in a hurry from the get go with Gavin Andrews and Mitch Le Prou getting the 2021 Division 2 Winter Champs off to a flying start – despite Robert Pearce (2 for 28) picking up both batsmen – Andrews trapped in front for 20 from 13, Mitch Le Prou caught by Nathan Bennett for 34 from 28.

Matt ‘Bad Boy’ Bailey blasted his way to 51 from 27 before being forced to retire, his innings including four boundaries and one six. Callum Whiting (17 from 15) and AJ Baker (six from two deliveries) helped the Cane Toads to a six wicket victory in 16.2 overs.

Ump Yours 3 for 127

Nathan Bennett 50 (44) ret.
Dylan Goodison 22 (18)
Gordon Willis 17 (15) no
Gavin Andrews 2 for 17
David Sheehan 1 for 21

Yarrabilba Cane Toads 2 for 132
Matt Bailey 51 (27) ret.
Mitch Le Prou 34 (28)
Robert Pearce 2 for 28

Continue Reading

Leading Run Scorer

Leading Wicket Taker

All Time Leading Run Scorer

All Time Leading Wicket Taker