The unbeaten start to the Jimboomba Times Division 2 Last Man Stands Winter Season by the Yarrabilba Cane Toads has come to an end after going down to the Trouble Makers by four runs in LMS action at Malling Street Oval on the weekend.

On the back of four straight wins, dating back to the Summer/Spring finals series, the table topping Yarrabilba Cane Toads were keen to keep their winning run intact – however the unavailability of big hitters Craig Whatmore and Mitch Le Prou always meant that the side would be facing an uphill battle throughout their round three clash.

The Trouble Makers started strong with Brett Hayward combining with Jamie Braithwaite to get the match underway with both batsmen striking the ball well as the Cane Toads bowlers struggled to make inroads. The introduction of fill in Evan Gudge looked to turn things on its head for the Yarrabilba based side.

Despite wickets starting to fall at regular intervals it was an unbeaten knock by Jamie Braithwaite (58 from 41 not out) that included two boundaries and three sixes that helped The Trouble Makers to post 130 for the loss of six wickets from their allotted 20 overs.

Gavin Andrews finished with 2 for 17 from his four, Gudge also chipped in with 2 for 27 while Leigh Reading in his first game of the season for the Cane Toads the other wicket taker with 1 for 23.

The new opening pair of Gavin Andrews and Cane Toads LMS skipper Callum Whiting set about chasing down the runs, Andrews with a boundary and a six before being brought undone and was bowled for 15 from eight deliveries.

Whiting was his ever consistent self scoring 23 from 28 deliveries before he was caught in an attempt to keep his side in the hunt. Danny Muller, making his return after a health issue ruled him out on the eve of the season starting, chipped in with a run a ball 27 as the requirements for victory started to tighten.

Still in the hunt despite some tight bowling by Brett Hayward – 3 for 16 from four overs – going at an economy of just four per over, saw the Cane Toads still in the hunt to continue their unbeaten streak this season.

Despite his best efforts with an unbeaten 51 from 28 deliveries including five boundaries and two sixes, David Sheehan saw wickets fall around him including Justin Taylor (three from five), Leigh Reading (six from seven) and Stephen Grace (one from one) and being stranded at the non strikers end for the final ball of the innings in which the Cane Toads needed four to win – Gudge was bowled handing The Trouble Makers the hard fought win.

The Trouble Makers 6/130
Jamie Braithwaite 58 (41)*
Jason Hart 14 (13)
Brett Hayward 14 (13)
Gavin Andrews 2-17
Evan Gudge 2-27


Yarrabilba Cane Toads 6/126
David Sheehan 51 (28)*
Daniel Muller 27 (27)
Callum Whiting 23(28)
Brett Hayward 3-16