Connect with us

Last Man Stands

Back-to-Back Titles for Cane Toads LMS

The Yarrabilba Cane Toads Last Man Stands side have defied expectations for the second time in a day to claim an emphatic eight-wicket-win against Now or Never B in the Last Man Stands Beaudesert Jimboomba Times Division 2 Final at Malling Park.

Earlier in the day the Cane Toads had booked their Grand Final spot with an upset victory over Ump Yours, who had finished second on the standings, and were pitted against Now or Never B in the Final on Turf.

Now or Never B had lost just one match all season, winning 11 from their 12 matches played, and had been a danger side to many with their powerful batting sitting with a massive Net Run Rate of 2.511. Meanwhile the Cane Toads – who won the Division 3 title during the Spring/Summer season of 2020/2021 – were looking to build on their early victory and look to add the Division 2 crown to their trophy cabinet.

Losing the toss the Cane Toads were asked to bowl first, and their belief that they could pull of the upset was evident for all to see from the beginning.

From a team that usually scores their runs quickly Now or Never B were restricted to a total of four boundaries throughout their entire innings, while tight line and length from the bowlers made it difficult for the competitions top side.

Sheehan had Yagnesh Sheth bowled for seven, backing it up a short time later with the scalp of fellow opening Shalin Vohra who was caught by Mitch Le Prou for two.

Christopher Prothero was brought into the attach and deeply damaged the confidence of the Now or Never B batting card when Prashant Kaushik and Rajeev Sharma were both spectacularly caught behind by Whiting – Kaushik out for six from 11, Sharma for a run a ball 13.

The end was near when Sheehan had Patel trapped in front for four, while Mohit Mathur did his best as he reached 19 from 29.

But the fielding brilliance was on display when Bob Kalra (five from eight) and Pinderjit Sing (five from seven) were both run out to bring the innings to a close in the fifteenth over with just 65 on the board.

The Cane Toads LMS outfit opened with their regular pairing of Callum Whiting and Gavin Andrews, who despite offering opportunities that weren’t taken, guided the Cane Toads to victory in nine-overs without the loss of a wicket.

Whiting finished unbeaten on 29 from 26, including two boundaries, while Gavin Andrews was unbeaten on 34 from 23 as the Cane Toads reached 66 without loss from nine overs.

The win now see’s the Cane Toads eyeing up a step up to Division One in the next LMS Beaudesert competitions after being crowned Division 3 & Division 2 Champions in back to back seasons.

Continue Reading

Leading Run Scorer

Leading Wicket Taker

All Time Leading Run Scorer

All Time Leading Wicket Taker