Connect with us

Senior Cricket

Vigo stuns on debut as Toads win

In what was a monumental match for the continued growth to the Yarrabilba Cricket Association, the club making its debut in the Logan District Cricket Association’s Division 2 competition, after a rough start the middle order of the Yarrabilba Cane Toads, led by an unbeaten 118 from Vani Vigo set up a massive 69 run victory over the Lions.

It came as almost a shock to all when Yarrabilba Cane Toads skipper Nick Feros won the call toss, something if we had historians working at our club we are sure would have them diving through to find out the last time he achieved the correct call at a coin toss. After everyone recovered from their shock the Cane Toads elected to bat first at Everdell Park (Ray Antcliff Oval) that the Beaudesert Cricket Association have kindly allowed us to use as a ‘home ground’ this season for our teams.

Phillip Fletcher-Knowles opened the batting alongside Carl Purvis. Purvis looking the aggressor between the pair, where after playing and missing a few times her started to connect with his cut shot, unfortunately the two-faced pitch brought about the downfall of Fletcher-Knowles, the opening stand of 20 brought to an end by Arqam Bari.

The departure of Fletcher-Knowles bringing about a top order batting collapse with Carl Purvis the next to depart for 20, before being followed back to the dug out quickly by Brendon McCoy, Jos De Waard and Matt Davis (four) all with the scoreboard on 31.

Just as it looked it could be a very early day for the Absolute Physio & Rehab Yarrabilba Cane Toads, however club debutant Paulo ‘Vani’ Vigo and veteran AJ Baker combined and took control of the match, the pair combining for 139-run partnership and more importantly both batsmen sticking around until deep in the innings.
Paulo Vigo bringing up his half century!

Vigo brought up his half century, however the pair didn’t slow down Baker playing more than his fair share of shots and tough running in the heat – a day where the weather gods decided to remind everyone we are back into summer cricket – on his way to 48 before being the last wicket to fall when he was bowled by Singh.

Hayden Mcavoy joined Vigo at the crease and the pair continued exactly where Baker had left thing, Vigo cruising past his century, just the fourth in Yarrabilba Cane Toad history, while Mcavoy’s powerful blasts late in the innings lifted the score to six for 255 upon their completion – Vigo finishing unbeaten on 118 while Mcavoy finished unbeaten on 45.

The three early wickets for Muhammad Hammad making him the only multiple wicket taker for the Lions, while also being able to avoid the onslaught from the Cane Toads middle order.

Ben Constable was the chief destroyer with the ball in hand picking up 3 for 27 from his seven overs, while Baker continued his great form with 3 for 32 from his seven as the Lions failed to kick start in their run chase.

Gurlal Singh the stand out for the Lions with 40 with the side eventually bowled out for 161.

Continue Reading

Leading Run Scorer

Leading Wicket Taker


All Time Leading Run Scorer

All Time Leading Wicket Taker

Exit mobile version